Hello everyone, I have a few questions I would like to understand from the long awaited Partisans Expansion.
- Can all CCP partisans move or just the ones that have been purchased?
- Italy controls partisans in Kashmir and Trans-Jordan, if Italy formed 2 partisans into a militia and the militia controls the zone, can the zone be immediately considered Italian, or does Italy have to be at war with Britain first?
- Can partisan rolls be made for colonial territories such as Cairo if it was Axis occupied?
- If 2 partisans form a militia in a mountain zone can the militia offer battle if an enemy is unit is present? For instance if Italy formed a Militia in Kashmir and a FEC militia was present, would an attack be impossible as the militia’s attack value would be zero in the mountains or is there a minimum attack value of 1?
- If a neutral’s home country is totally occupied can the opposing alliance make partisan roles in the home country? For instance, if Russia occupies Iran and Germany and Russia are NOT at war can Germany still make partisan rolls in Iran or do Russia and Germany have to be at war?
Thanks for the help!
This is of course my interpretation without having played yet, but:
1. All CCP Partisans can move per 3.2: “CCP Partisans have a move of 1”. I seriously doubt HBG would be making us differentiate between Partisans that were bought and Partisans that were generated.
2. Good question. I would refer to the Turkey at War Expansion for a reference there. The example from 1.8 of that Expansion says: “Turkey generates two Partisans in Free French Syria and combines them into a Militia. There are no Free French units there so Syria immediately is considered to be Turkish Home Country. There is no declaration of war by Turkey (since the action was in theory undertaken by separatists within Syria). France is robbed of a colony”. So I think it’s safe to say that in this Expansion as well thee same rule would apply. That this would not amount to a declaration of war by Italy.
3. The rules read to me that it has to be a territory from your Home Country. 1.1 says: “Turkey generates two Partisans in Free French Syria and combines them into a Militia. There are no Free French units there so Syria immediately is considered to be Turkish Home Country. There is no declaration of war by Turkey (since the action was in theory undertaken by separatists within Syria). France is robbed of a colony”. So this would be Home Country, or Greece if Aligned, or say Belgium if not Aligned, but overrun first time it was attacked.
4. I’ve asked a similar question on account of the rules for Croatia at War before. They mention Militia being able to use their attack value against Partisans in Yugoslavia, but all Yugoslavian territories are mountains. Rules say mountains take a -1 penalty to attackers, which brings them back to 0 again. I think this is a lesson in knowing when and when not to form Partisans into Militia. You’d never want to do so on a mountain territory that is occupied!
5. This is similar to your #2 above I think. Rule 1.1 says: “(c) a territory of a neutral that was Controlled at time of capture”. This would apply in your scenario. Germany and USSR are not at war. USSR invades Iran, Iran would become Axis Controlled, but not Aligned. Meaning, the above quote would work for Partisan generation rolls.
- All CCP Partisans can move.
- Italian-controlled Partisans banding together to take a British colony would be a declaration of war on Britain. The Turkish rule is an exception and is designed to represent nationalist elements and I think there is a case to be made that nationalist elements are at play in Kashmir and trans-jordan as well but the rules do not technically support that at the moment so Turkey not withstanding, the Global War Partisans will have to wait for a future differentiation of Nationalist vs, Pro-Allied vs. Pro-Axis vs, Comintern – something under consideration
- Yes, Colonies generate Partisans.
- Partisan units that combine to form militia during the combat movement phase of the turn and are treated as if they combat moved into the territory, thus they could attack. In mountains they would be subject to -1, reducing their effectiveness to 0.
AS per 2.5
2.5 Transformation: Two partisans controlled by the same nation may form a militia unit during the combat movement phase of its controlling major power’s turn. Such a militia is treated as if it had combat moved into the territory. Once the Partisans become a militia unit, they cannot form back into partisans.
5. If Russia occupies Iran it would be controlled by Germany, (not Aligned until Germany and Russia are at war) A player makes a Partisan generation roll for territories captured under their possession or control, so the minute Soviets attack Iran it becomes German controlled and now Germany gets to make Partisan rolls there.
1.1 Partisan Generation: During each player’s Collect Income and Place Units phase that player may make a partisan generation roll for each territory that was captured (and remains captured) while under her Possession / Control. This could include (a) a territory from a players home country that was captured (b) a territory from a nation that was Aligned and subsequently captured or (c) a territory of a neutral that was Controlled at time of capture. A separate roll is made for each such land zone.