Please explain combat air patrol in more detail

Global FAQCategory: QuestionsPlease explain combat air patrol in more detail
Gargantua asked 4 years ago

I understand the purpose of “Combat Air Patrol” on defence.  It allows you to have aircraft in the air over sea Zones so as to have extra planes able to defend your navy.  Where we get confused is the use of Combat Air patrols on “attack” to destroy enemy submarines.  Combat air patrols restrict aircraft range to 1 zone.   Does that mean I can’t fly 2-4 spaces and attack an enemy sub?  Do I have to CAP to attack an enemy sub?  And if I CAP to attack one, is my plane stuck in that zone the whole round?

5 Answers
Gargantua answered 4 years ago

Please also note there Are several unanswered questions all the way back to page 7 or 8.  I have indicated them.  When you respond to this please also review those so I can close them 🙂

HBG-Doug Staff answered 4 years ago

Gargantua – I love your questions – They help me greatly in making clarifications to the rules and for other players.  When you ask a follow up question it shows up as an answer and it looks like Doug or I have answered it – my apologies.
So, combat air patrol on ATTACK is basically the same, except you are limited to your patrol range.   For most aircraft this is “1” which means that you can’t attack stuff way out at sea – you pretty much need to have an aircraft in an adjacent land zone. I did this because it was more realistic and I tried as best I could to simulate the mid-atlantic air gap
So to your questions specifically

  • You can only fly one zone to make your attack, 
  • You are not stuck in the zone, according to the CAP rules you can return in non-combat but your total move would be “2” (you can return up your CAP range in the same turn
  • You have to be on CAP to attack an enemy sub.
Mission answered 4 years ago

One more clarification please.  In Global 1939, it was not uncommon for a bomber to fly from Germany, bomb Cairo, and land in a safe landing zone in Africa, or an adjacent island.  May I assume that if an aircraft must fly over more than one zone of open water to get to its destination (the open water zones need not be adjacent to one another), they cannot arrive at the destination?
For example, a bomber in Marseilles wishes to attack Corinthe or Greece.  The flight path is sea zone 50, Taranto, sea zone 51, Greece/Corinth (non-combat is return to sea zone 51, land in Taranto).  May I assume that this flight path is prohibited as two sea zones must be traversed?  Would this also apply to non-combat moves.  Or, since non-combat moves are considered to occur over longer periods of time (see lend-lease rules of equipment), the two sea zone rule would not apply?

Gargantua answered 4 years ago

I would imagine The restriction only applies to CAPs and Submarine hunting.   Not direct routes of bombers and fighters to non sub/CAP related battles.

HBG-Doug Staff answered 4 years ago

 
 1 second ago

A bomber can fly and bomb so long as it has the range to reach a friendly landing spot. It can fly over as many land and sea zones as it wishes to the extent of its range on a normal mission – there are no restrictions on how many sea zones it can fly over or where it has to land. The idea of combat air patrol is that the aircraft spends its turn patrolling a sea zone looking for enemy vessels (and in theory using up all its range within that zone). Nothing prohibits an aircraft from flying over more than one sea zone in regular movement